Office Saltwater Tank

Having previously kept bettas (Siamese fighting fish) during the years 2008-2010 and 2012-2013, I’ve decided it’s about time to progress to the next level: saltwater fish. I previously housed my bettas in 1.5 gallons (5.7 liters) of dechlorinated tap water and already realized they’d need more space. This was because they often stared off into the horizon, thinking deeply.

So this time, I want to make sure my soon-to-be ocellaris clownfish and royal gramma basslet (or blue/green chromis) can live in harmony with each other in my new 10 gallon. I know 10 gallons is toward the small end of the 10-30 gallon recommendation, but my office space is limited.

Ocellaris ClownfishAfter 25 days of setting-up the tank (with live sand, dry rock, Sicce Shark Adv 400 internal filter [with a small wave maker], Newattino 100-watt heater, and an LED light hood), adding in daily fish food to kick-start the nitrogen cycle, API water testing, and performing weekly distilled salt water changes, I’m proud to say that the ammonia and nitrites are down to zero.

Once the holidays are over, I’ll acclimatize the 2 fishes and hope they get along. They do according to the compatibility chart, but every fish has their own personality. The picture below shows the condition of my tank and I’ll post an update after I get my fishes.

10-gallon Tank Setup

2 thoughts on “Office Saltwater Tank

Leave a Reply

