Arashiyama Bamboo Grove

The next morning, we took an 8:35am bullet train from Nagoya to Kyoto. After passing through the departing station’s gate with the JR Pass, I grabbed an apple cinnamon donut. It had been years since I last had a genuine sweet-beyond-words donut.

Near DonutAfter the 381 kph Shinkansen stopped at Kyoto Station, we strolled around the tranquil streets of the cultural capital. If (in addition to the following 2 places) I had participated in a green tea ceremony, my Kyoto experience would be fairly complete. I guess this warrants a 2nd visit in the near future.

From Bullet To Mono

We then took a monorail towards Arashiyama.

Monorail

Since it’s been a while, I don’t quite remember whether the photo below was taken at the monorail station, but it looks quite nice.

Mono Station

Before entering Arashiyama Bamboo Grove, we passed by a few souvenir shops. I didn’t have a habit of buying cool fridge magnets at the time, otherwise I could’ve easily stocked up a few here. Another reason to go back to Kyoto.

Souvenir Shop

After entering Arashiyama Bamboo Grove, also known as the Bamboo Forest, I can see why so many tourists come here. You just have to give it to the Japanese. Only they can create places like this.

Bamboo Forest

Between the Bamboo Forest and the later Tenryu-ji Temple, there were many scattered water features, one of which showcased some artificial frogs. Can you count how many there are in here?

How Many Frogs

Tenryu-ji was okay. I really preferred the Bamboo Forest though. And since it’s open 24 hours a day and since I recently bought the ultimate Olight S10R Baton II 500-lumen flashlight, it’s only natural that I go for a night excursion with the bamboos (and maybe monkeys) some time soon.

Shrine

At the end of the day, we were back at the train station, waiting for the train to take us to our hotel after a long walk. There’s just something about the stations that keeps people at ease. Every time I think about Japan, I’m enveloped with fond memories of the villages, Tokyo, the electronics, the landscape, and the train stations.

Train Station

 

4 thoughts on “Arashiyama Bamboo Grove

Leave a Reply

