Roppongi Hills, Saitama, and Shibuya

Mori Tower SpiderFor Day 4, we went to Roppongi Hills in the morning, Saitama in the afternoon, and Shibuya in the evening. It may seem a little weird that we chose to go to Roppongi, which is famous for the nightlife, in the morning. But remembering that this was 3 years ago and that I had to present my master’s project on the Roppongi site, it makes sense.

We stood under the large spider next to Mori Tower and passed by Tokyo Midtown and Hinokicho Park before taking the long train ride north to Saitama.

Radio TowerThere were some interesting building-mounted radio towers and hydraulic lifts, but those couldn’t compare with the spectacular dusk and night views of the park. Not sure if I mentioned it before, but every pavement brick is arranged carefully and neatly in Japan, even in the countryside.

Saitama

Shibuya CrossingIn 2006, when I went to Tokyo for the 1st time, I didn’t go to Shibuya, but this time in 2012, I finally had the chance to witness the vast numbers of people crossing the Shibuya Crossing. The view from Starbucks was even clearer, clearer than what I saw on YouTube a few days before the trip. All though I unfortunately ended up going to the Shibuya 109 since I was outnumbered by my female classmates, I did manage to buy a maple leaf ornament for my cute betta fish back home.

Maple LeafThis was a good day, one that would mark our last day in metro Tokyo, as we would be in Yokohama and Nagoya the next morning.

4 thoughts on “Roppongi Hills, Saitama, and Shibuya

Leave a Reply

