The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2

Hunger Games LogoWatched the Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 on November 24, 2015 and I thought I’d write a spoiler review. If you haven’t watched it and you’re wondering if it’s any good, I can assure you won’t be disappointed. If you already watched it and wish to know my personal viewpoint on it, read on.

***

To start off, I was very disappointed with the Hunger Games: Catching Fire. I therefore put off watching Mockingjay Part 1 (MP1) until Part 2 (MP2) was about to show. Surprisingly, I found MP1 to be strangely well filmed, even with my little screen, which impelled me to watch MP2 on the big screen.

M61 Vulcan gatling gunMP2 succeeded over MP1 in terms of action. There was one scene where the team set off a pod, which consisted of 2 wall-mounted gatling guns. The guns moved with such precision and sensitivity, a scene that came just in time to rejuvenate the slower paced scene before it. How the soldiers of Panem placed over a thousand of these traps within days was one unrealistic aspect of the movie though. Another one was the fact that the safety-oriented squad leader was the first to die shortly after setting off the previously-mentioned pod.

Julianne MooreThere were also some realistic plot developments, such as the President of the rebels, under the temptation of power, becoming the successor of evil, after Snow. Good that Katniss was there to take her out with an arrow. And as with other movies, MP2 had its fair share of awkward endings, such as an out-of-place Katniss with Peeta, 2 children, and a wheat field at dusk. But overall, I give this movie an 8.3 out of 10. What about you?

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2

  1. Ohhhh!! I haven’t read Mocking Jay nor watched the movies yet!! A few years ago, I read the first book before I watched the movie. But I was SOOOO disappointed. The year after, I watched the 2nd movie before I read the book and I loved it!! The book didn’t seem as good (perhaps it was because I watched the movie first?)

    I don’t know. I feel like if I read the book first, the movie will disappoint me. If I watch the movie first, the book will disappoint me. Aaaaaiiii

    Like

Leave a Reply

