From Kanto to Kansai, Japan

After finally covering the Australian trip last week, I thought I’ll look 3 years in retrospect at my last Japan trip. These 2 countries are extremely different from each other. Japan’s population is 127 million, while Australia’s is 24 million. Australia is the 6th largest country in the world, while Japan is a small visible country on the world map. There may not be enough space or time to stand idle or to breathe in Japan, but you’re free to do so in Australia. Both countries are essentially polar opposites of each other, yet there is one aspect that ties them together. Their need for quality in everything they do. That is why I like both of these countries.

Regions and Prefectures of Japan.I’ve talked about Tokyo enough in the past that I believe it’s about time to finally cover my last trip to Japan. In total, I’ve been to Tokyo 4 times in 1999, 2006, 2009, and 2012, staying there for 24 days and 20 nights. It’s my 3rd most inhabited country after Hong Kong and Canada, not surprisingly because of Tokyo where you can buy or do almost anything you can imagine and where everything is tourist-friendly. Friends of mine have challenged this ideology and they’ve sadly been defeated.

As for this last trip, I was studying my full-time master after working for a couple of years, so this was actually a 9-day study trip of some sort. But the focus is obviously on 4 Japanese cities: Tokyo, Nagoya, Kyoto, and Osaka. It’ll probably take some time to cover as it did with Sydney, so I’ll probably focus on my favorite cities Tokyo and Kyoto, in order to save time.

5 thoughts on “From Kanto to Kansai, Japan

Leave a Reply

